Clarification on the process from civilian to Coast Guardsman
Last Post 11 Oct 2016 01:18 PM by drumbeater. 2 Replies.
Author Messages
DillonHinson

--
09 Oct 2016 10:08 PM
    Hello guys,

I just wanted to clarify the process of going from civilian to Coast Guardsman. I am in the recruiting process right now, and though my recruiter is helpful, I still feel like I don't have a solid grasp on the process. I am a 26-year old college graduate looking to enlist, then hopefully apply for OCS.

Currently, I am waiting to hear back from my recruiter about a date to go to MEPS for both the ASVAB and physical exam. It's been a week since he faxed over my entire package, including medical records, college degree, etc. I should hear back within two weeks, according to my recruiter. Once I get my dates for MEPS, what happens after that? Specifically, when do I sign my actual contract and get a boot camp date? Also, what is the Delayed Entry Program, and what am I expected to do while in the DEP? 

Now when I graduate boot camp, I go to an initial unit that may or may not be what I requested on my dream sheet in boot camp. And I am at that unit for an initial 4 months, correct? After that, I can put my name on an A-School wait list? Are there any requirements that I need to meet prior to getting on a wait list, like any qualifications I have to meet at my initial unit? I am aiming to go to AST school, so will my command at my first unit be responsible for screening me for AST school?

Thank you all for you help! As I mentioned, I am in the recruitment process now, so I know things will eventually happen and my recruiter will guide me along, but I'd just like to go into this with a better understanding of the road ahead.

Dillon
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member
    m1ashooter

--
    10 Oct 2016 06:10 AM