Intro for an Aged Noob
Last Post 20 Aug 2019 04:51 PM by SpiralOut46. 7 Replies.
Author Messages
SpiralOut46

--
17 Aug 2019 04:43 PM
    Hello all:

I just passed the PT test with my recruiter yesterday and he's working on a date for me, so I figured I'd start hammering out questions that he hasn't really been helpful with.  Don't get me wrong, he's a great guy, but I told him I have to get some razors and get used to straight blades again because I've been using an electric for about 10 or 15 years: he seemed confused as to why I wouldn't be able to use my electric razor at boot camp -_-  Been eying this forum for a while, but I've just been trying to focus on my PT that I didn't want to distract myself with anything else.  Now, I need to focus on the damn Helmsman as much as I can.  I'm gonna stand out at boot camp enough as it is, don't need to give 'em more of a reason to lay it on.

I'm 31 years old and have a bachelor's degree in Music.  Might as well be Art History with the help it's gotten me over the years, but it'll help me get the bump to E-3, so I'm ok with that.  I was looking at IT for a bit, but A schools are packed and ET has a 10G bonus.  I currently work in IT at a HelpDesk and I think I'll be ok passing on the IT gig.  I'd rather be soldering things and ripping them apart than restarting Windows anyway...  "Hello: IT - Have you tried turning it off and on again?"

Originally from NY, but moved to FL with my wife a few years ago and I drive 2.5 hours to Tampa for any USCG related items even though the Orlando office is about 40 minutes away.  When I called the Orlando office they told me I was "too old".  I hate apathy worse than ignorance, so I try to tell myself he just didn't know...

Anyway, looking forward to learning some things and meeting some peeps.

SpiralOut/KeepGoing,

-Ryan
    Basic Member
    Basic Member
    jdhusker

--
    17 Aug 2019 06:44 PM