Aux Questions
Last Post 24 Nov 2014 02:51 PM by VicNaz1. 4 Replies.
Author Messages
MGG_Aux

--
26 Jun 2014 10:44 PM
    Sorry, I'm new to this whole thing. Let's hope I don't screw anything up too bad.

I have a few questions regarding the Coast Guard Auxiliary. I had originally started the process with the reserves but that went awry when, upon reviewing my medical records, they PD'Q me for taking anxiety medication for a few months after my sister died. This was over ten years ago and my recruiter didn't think it would be a big deal but it turned out it was (if I knew what I know now ten years ago I would have never taken the crap and I guess they're not really giving out waivers for this stuff right now??). I'll admit, I was pretty bummed about the whole situation and it wasn't until a few weeks back that I came across the USCG Aux. which piqued my curiosity again.

Anyways, here are my questions:

1. Would my chances of getting accepted into the Aux. be hampered by the fact that I was turned down by the reserves? I've tried to get into contact with my local flotilla for the past three weeks but haven't heard from anybody.

2. With the research I have done, I've learned that there are opportunities to work with the reserves/ active duty guys. How often does this happen? I'm a younger guy with a job that allows me to have the summer off -- so I can dedicate a lot of time to the Aux./ USCG during a good amount of the year. I would love to work on a cutter or UTB if possible.

3. Is there any chance of some day, through hard work, somebody maybe being able to put in a good word about me to higher-ups in USCG to get me into the reserves? Or is that dream effectively over? I have heard of some people getting their feet wet with the Aux. and using that as a spring board to the reserves.