Unit Locations
Last Post 29 Oct 2019 02:36 PM by CC2018. 5 Replies.
Author Messages
CC2018

--
09 Sep 2019 10:55 AM
    Good afternoon,

I am new to the Forum, I’m sorry for any duplications but I had a few questions. I’m 32 years old, live in Columbus, GA and have been with DHS as a law enforcement officer for the past 5 years. I am interested in the ME rate as I feel it relates directly to my civilian career. Given my current location I understand I will be traveling a considerable distance to drill. My questions are; if my civilian job (DHS) moves me to another state, can I transfer to a closer unit? Does it depend on current billets? I graduated FLETC UPTP in 2014, would I be exempt from “A” school for ME rate? Is the IV rate something I could apply for? I’m currently an 1801 with a DHS agency, not an 1811, not sure if I would be a contender. I have a BA and completing my Masters and hold a TS Clearance for what it’s worth. I know I’m late to the game but I have a strong desire to serve and feel the USCGR would be an excellent fit. 

Thanks
    Resserve Chief/Trusted Member
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member
    CPORJM

--
    09 Sep 2019 03:31 PM
    Greetings....If your civilian employer moves you, it's possible to transfer units. That's assuming an open billet is available. If nothing is open, then you will be travelling to your old unit to drill, as it's your responsibility to ensure you meet participation requirements. I do not recommend junior enlisted travel outside the Reasonable Commuting Distance (RCD=100 miles round trip from zip code of residence), as it will eat up far too much of your pay, since you will be responsible for travel costs outside the RCD.