Reserve Questions
Last Post 10 Oct 2019 09:06 PM by squashy. 4 Replies.
Author Messages
squashy

--
08 Oct 2019 02:13 PM
    Hello,

I am looking to potentially join the coast guard. I have several questions.

1. I am going to be finishing my bachelor's degree within the next year. I see that currently Coast Guard reserves is not accepting non-prior service officer candidates, but has a 31 year old limit (I am currently 29). Do you foresee that in the next 2 years there will be opportunities for myself to get into a reserve officer role? My degree is in criminal justice and I currently work in law enforcement.

2. Is the reserve OCS the same as active duty OCS?

3. Are there as many openings for officers as enlisted in the great lakes region?

4. If I were deployed to an extended state-side deployment (6+ months), would my family be able to join me? I understand this is not possible for overseas deployments.

5. If I join a unit, can the coast guard assign me to another unit at any time? Or only if I request it?

6. I attempted to join the USMC in 2008 but was medically disqualified for childhood asthma, and they were not offering waivers at the time because they were backed up 18 months in shipments to boot camp because of the failing economy. Does the coast guard offer waivers very often for enlisted or officer, if I am able to pass the PFT?

Thanks,
    Josh
    Resserve Chief/Trusted Member
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member
    CPORJM

--
    08 Oct 2019 03:45 PM
    Greetings... I've been in the CGR for just about 20 years, so I should be able to help here